Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yes, I’ve been neglectful to my Wckedwords followers and I apologize. I was having fun on my new blog because it’s just so damn easy to write about liquor and being a half-ass mom. If you want to experience those shenanigans, go check it out and sign up for my Blonde Undone blog here.

But back to business. I realized that I never did a follow-up about the music video I shot last year. If you didn’t catch the first part, I wrote about it here. It gave you the low-down on my obsessive prepping for the shoot and a story about my previous experience with a music video (still mad at you, ZZ Top). Now it’s time for a recap of the actual shoot.

My video vixen look of the '90's. If you want the full story, you have to go back and read part 1.

My video vixen look of the ’90’s. If you want the full story, you have to go back and read part 1.

After I realized I couldn’t lose 20 pounds or 20 years in a short amount of time, I just sucked it up and moved forward. I got my wardrobe approved that included a denim skirt that was almost long enough to get a Pentecostal stamp of approval but that was necessary to cover my I’ve-had-3-kids-and-sit-on-my-ass-writing-all-day thighs. I also got to wear a cowboy hat and my favorite Navajo turquoise jewelry, so that was cool.

After getting all gussied-up I shot the first day solo and that was a blast because it consisted of driving down lots of twisting, country roads in this…

Bad Ass Cadillac

Bad Ass Cadillac

I know!! I had to change my panties after that. It was that good! I drove around drinking tea out of an old Jack Daniels bottle. The lovely casting director, Vanessa, had to lay in the floor of the back seat and hand it to me when I needed it. It was an adventure. The only tough part about that day was it was 100+ degrees. My spray tan was sweating off on the seats.

Towards the end of the first day. I was looking hot, but in that melting kind of way.

Towards the end of the first day. I was looking hot, but in that melting kind of way.

The second day included the rest of the cast: a group of lovely girls all 15 to 20 years younger than me (one of them a dead-ringer for Anna Paquin). They should have used one of them as a my body double for the first shot, but c’est la vie. That day I was quickly reminded of the difference between union and independent shoots: people arriving late and the temperatures getting higher and higher with the delay. I’m glad I was with friends who I like hanging out with, or I would have been a diva because I’m old and cranky.

Old, cranky actress acting a fool at the end of the first day.

Old, cranky actress acting a fool at the end of the first day.

Eventually we got around to shooting. It was long, hot and grueling but a whole lot of fun. Even in horrible conditions I have fun on set. The energy is just contagious. I can’t describe it, but its addictive if its something that’s just in your blood. By the end of the day I had severe dehydration, almost passed out on my way home, and was sick in bed for two days afterward. What’s sad is I should have learned my lesson before that. I’ve worked on two other film projects that were both shot in the heat of summer. One was a SAG production that was made easier only by the fact that I was standing around watching Antonio Banderas work his magic and a union mandated craft services tent (you’re lucky to get a bag of Fritos and a Capri Sun at independent gigs). The other experience was in Tampa during a 100+ day that involved shooting in a warehouse. It was like a sauna and to make it worse, we were shooting a pageant scene that involved costumes for the talent portion and then bathing suits. I was puking in the parking lot by the end of the day due to heat exhaustion (there’s probably puking involved in real pageants too, so we’ll just say I was committing to my part).

Filming the popsicle scene. At the time, i was so hot I didn't care that I looked like a whore. I was just glad to have something cold.

Filming the popsicle scene. At the time, it was so hot I didn’t care that I looked like a whore. I was just glad to have something cold.

Anyway, I had a lot of fun with the shoot. I’m very happy for the band, Old Warhorse. I truly enjoy their music and hope they continue to do well. I’ll always be available to them for any other shoots. I think the video is good. It’s hard as an actress/washed-up model to not pick myself apart, so I’m just reminding myself that I was the only mom in the group and that I truly am almost 20 years older than all of the thin, beautiful girls I was with. (They were a lot of fun and I hope they enjoy their youth and looks every freakin’ day.) As a director, it’s hard not to find little things here and there I’d do differently, but I wasn’t the director– I was an actress, and it was my job to do what the director said (including the popsicle scene that I was far from crazy about). Overall– it’s a fun video of a great band that I loved working with. I think you’ll like them, too.

old warhorse

Now, if you’re ready to see the finished product, go here. I wanted to embed it in the blog but I’m too much of a tech idiot to do that. If you like what you hear, check out the band on facebook for information on upcoming shows and where to buy their music.

Enjoy and wicked wishes- Ash

